Just a quick recap about some of the latest restaurant openings + some of my recent meals

***Opened at the end of December 2013, Restaurant Le Serpent quickly became a favourite and one of the few restaurants that I can comfortably recommend in Montreal. Chef Michele Mercuri is simply among the very few
raw/true talented chefs  you’ll find in town (along the likes of Chef  Navarette Jr of Raza, Thierry Rouyé of La Porte,   Chef Lenglet of Au Cinquième Péché, Alexandre Loiseau of  Bistro Cocagne)
***Restaurant Le Richmond  recently opened, offering  Italian cooking in  what looks like one of Montreal prettier  restaurants.  I have not visited the place yet, but I saw that they had the genius idea of using what’s easily and currently the best meat in town at this moment, Marchand Du  Bourg‘s steaks.
***Jun I, based on a recent visit, continues to be the benchmark  for a true Japanese sushiya in Montreal. One of Montreal very best food destination by several notches.
***Went to Chambly trying Restaurant Tre Colori. Before going there, I read the online opinions about the place
and they happened, based on my experience there, to be severely innacurate:  Tre Colori is certainly neither a bad table,  nor a top flight restaurant, though it proved, while I was there, that it was capable of top-flight items like the
best lamb chops I ever sampled in Mtl & its surroundings. If my praises over those lamb chops generate high expectations in your mind, then I’ll invite you to review the basics of any restaurant kitchen: they usually have  brigades and one cook who cooked your food today might be replaced by another one on a different day, the quality of meat that was available on X day might not be available on a different day, the chef who cooked something stellar on X day may be cooking your food again BUT in a totally different mood, etc. So sync your expectations with those realities. That said, I did not dislike  Tre Colori and would happily return there.

Comments are closed.