Tempio di Mecenate, Il Pasticciaccio – Rome

Posted: November 3, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Couple of days in Rome. A quick account of my meals at  some of their humble trattorias:

TEMPIO DI MECENATETempio di Mecenate, L.go Leopardi 14/18 Phone: 06 4872653 http://www.tempiodimecenate.it : Food would  have impressed a bit more had my plate of grilled seafood expressed a certain degree of  maritime flavor both to the smell and on the palate (they just lacked salinity), their quality perfectly fine  for this standard of eatery.  A dish of ravioli as well as roman oxtail stew were not going to be remembered as ranking among the ravioli and roman oxtails that knocked my socks off , but  both were tasty, for sure, and   technically executed properly. Perhaps not in my top tier trattoria food items during this visit of Rome, but this was a  pleasant meal   and on this  visit, there were plenty of Italians of different generations eating there, which I guess is not a bad thing at all. Verdict (Very good>Good>Ok>bad): Ok

MARGHERITAEqually pleasant without standing out was the nearby Il Pasticciaccio (Via Merulana, 34, 00185 Roma, Italia Phone: Phone: 0689528967) . On one visit, I had couple of pizze here of which my sole reproach would be that  the crust needed to be softer.  The rest (cheese, tomato sauce) was fine enough/ Ok / normal  even by the standard of your average pizza in North America.  I will admit that  what I was missing the most was the flavor of a wood fired pizza, and dreaming of Neapolitan pizza  was not helping at all , but that is obviously not the fault of Il Pasticciaccio. After all, it is not as if I did not know what were the best pizze of Rome (Sforno,  ).  The service is good, and on the first evening I was there,  they even had  one young Italian lady who was able  to converse in English. If you go there, try the dishes featuring  grilled meats (chicken, beef) as the people who were eating at the neighboring table  seemed to have liked  their grilled meats. Again, nothing out of the ordinary of this kind of casual restaurant, but not bad at all neither. Verdict (Very good>Good>Ok>bad): Ok

Comments are closed.