Bar Villa D’Este (Tivoli), Baia Chia (Rome)

Posted: November 4, 2015 in Best restaurants in Rome, italian, italy, restaurants in rome, rome
Tags: ,

Untitled2While visiting Tivoli, I rushed on the web to find suggestions about where to grab a bite in the area and was disappointed  by the reviews: they sounded completely out of touch with what needs to be expected from such area. It is a touristicky area, miles away from Rome and I am not too sure why one would expect galactic culinary exploits from such humble eatery.  Anyways, on the back of the realistic expectations that happened to me mine……………., I found  Bar Villa D’Este to deliver some honest tasty food.  There was not a vast quantity of  beer, but the beer tasted fresh, which is perhaps what one should expect from any place,  but many touristicky eateries do offer cheap quality beers (Montreal does actually excel at that!). Then my Ravioli di ricotta al ragu was certainly not homemade ravioli,  its texture not of the refined type, but again…………………save for some  high-end restaurants and   few artisan Chef trattorias outside of Western big cities, who the hell is making homemade ravioli nowadays?? At least, theirs tasted good. My only serious quip is that they should STOP USING  plastic ustensils………SUBITO!!!!! There are lots of things that I can tolerate, but that …. I CANNOT!!!!  Bar Villa D’Este – Addr: Via Tiburtina Valeria, 330, 00011, Tivoli, Italy Phone: +39 0774 3883
Verdict (Very good>Good>Ok>bad): ……………… I won’t assess this eatery for the sake of……. accuracy. I do not want you to compare my rating of this eatery to the ones of my recent meals. Why? Because Bar Villa D’Este does not have the pretention of competing with a place like, say, Vecchia Roma..obviously!!!! It is just a humble eatery to grab some noce fresh  beer and have some decent food. And yet, compared to its direct competitition….it is doing a DAMN HONEST JOB!

UntitledBaia Chia was recommended to me by the same folks who did suggest that I eat at Vecchia Roma. VR was an instant success, for me, but BC, although using nice ingredients by western restaurant trattoria standards …. and specializing in food that I am partial to (seafood)…delivered a meal that I won’t be able to rate (as explained below) – Scampi risotto was  as all’onda as it is possible to  be, the scampi of good quality, the taste delicious enough  but lacking the depth / complexity of a great  seafood risotto (this was good, just not great — the sort of white wine as well as seafood stock used makes a big difference, and it is  that difference that I was missing ). A seafood platter of grilled seafood featured good quality scampi, shrimp and  and calamari, the maritime aromas in evidence. Simple, as expected  but certainly effective though nowhere as dazzling as its better examples. Baia Chia Via Macchiavelli 5A Phone: 06 70.45.34.52

Verdict (Very good>Good>Ok>bad): ………………There is no denying the fact that Baia Chia uses fine produce (BY WESTERN TRATTORIA STANDARDS), service is great, food tasty enough. But I was not floored, for reasons…that have nothing to do with them: when it comes to seafood, my point of reference is the seafood from the Indian Ocean and/or the Caribbean . My palate perceives them as way superior than the seafood found elsewhere.  BC’s seafood is good, but I made the mistake of having that point of reference in mind. It diminished the appreciation of my mean, so I can’t rate this ..l.

Comments are closed.