Giolitti, the legendary ice cream shop of Rome

Posted: November 7, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

GIOLITTI1Last, but not least, a must-try in Rome: Giolitti. For those in the know,  Giolitti  is widely known as Rome’s ice cream shop to beat. On the day of my visit, there were even special tourist  tours focusing on  Giolitti.

GIOLITTI2Such fame tend to influence people, polarizing their opinions between instant haters (oh nah..another touristicky place) or lovers (oh yeah, it is the best ice cream of my life). I can only trade in facts that my palate is aware of, so I had no particular expectations. I just wanted their ice cream to be a technically well made ice cream, basta! And perfectly made it was, indeed, with a depth of  fresh milky taste (Never mind the flavors: whether the flavor of my ice cream  was pear or vanilla or something else, I believe that is not important — what matters to me is the technique, the depth in the work of the flavors) that is way more refined than at most of the other major ice cream spots of Rome.

Can it get any better than this? Was this my lifetime best ice cream? Remember, this …as excellent as it is …caters to the mass. So, ultimately, I had better ice cream (bolder milky flavor, bolder fruity flavor) done by talented ppl in their homes. But for ice cream catering to the masses, Giolitti’s certainly  one fine example. Giolitti  Addr: Via Uffici del Vicario, 40 – Roma – Tel 06.6991243  http://www.giolitti.it/

Comments are closed.